Love Language Test

Love Language Test

Hello everyone, how are you? I hope that you are fine. Have you ever heard about love languages? If so, you might have asked yourself this question: what is my love language? How do I feel loved and appreciated in relationships? Our quiz will help you answer this question. Before you dive in, let’s talk a little more about the concept of love languages.

The love languages theory was first developed by Gary Chapman and defined by him in his book “The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts”. The theory claims that each person expresses and experiences love in one of several specific ways, called love languages. Chapman outlines five love languages, and according to him, they are words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, acts of service, and receiving gifts. People usually have one primary love language (the thing that will make them feel special most of the time). And many people have one or two secondary love languages that are less intense, but still important to be aware of.

Love languages are not just about romantic relationships. After all, there are many kinds of love: romantic, platonic, between family members, etc. This theory can just as well refer to friendships or parents-children relationships.

Words of affirmation mean compliments, encouraging, supporting, or appreciative words. When this is someone’s primary love language, they will enjoy their significant other congratulating them, telling them “Great job!”, or thanking them for something. They will like hearing things from their partner like “Thank you for putting so much effort into planning this outing for us;” “You look cute today;” or “I love your kind heart.” They need a partner who listens actively and recognizes their effort. You can make this person’s day by leaving them a sweet note or sending a thoughtful text message.

Quality time is defined as spending meaningful time with your partner. A person with this love language wants their partner to give them undivided attention with no distractions. They love it when someone sets time aside to focus on them and only them. Uninterrupted, meaningful conversations or activities are very important. To make that person feel loved, you have to put down the phone, turn off electronics, make eye contact, and listen actively. Affirm what the other person is saying and refrain from offering advice (unless they ask for it).

Physical touch means the non-verbal use of body language and touch to show affection. Someone who has this as their love language feels appreciated through physical intimacy. This is just as much about platonic touch as it is about sexual activities. Aside from sex, this person feels loved when their partner holds their hand, touches their arm, kisses them before leaving for work, or gives them a massage at the end of the day, for example. They want to feel close to their partner physically.

Acts of service are about doing things for your partner. A person with this love language needs someone who will help them with tasks to reduce their burden or ease their stress. For example, they might take on some of their chores after they had a tough day, or they might run an errand for them. This person knows they can rely on their partner to help if they ask – and often even without asking. That is what makes them feel loved and happy.

Receiving gifts is rather self-explanatory. For someone with this love language giving gifts is symbolic of love and affection. It is not only a gift that is precious for them, but the time and effort the gift-giver put into it. People with receiving gifts as their primary love language also do not necessarily expect big or pricey gifts. It is more what is behind the gift that appeals to them. They appreciate it when their partner is thoughtful enough to know what they like and dislike. When their loved one takes the time to pick out a present specifically for them, it tells the person they really love them.

To discover your love language, you need to observe the way you express your love to others and consider what they complain about the most and what they need from their partner. Gary Chapman poses a theory that people tend to naturally give love in the way that they prefer to receive love. Better communication between couples can be accomplished when one can demonstrate caring to the other person in the love language the recipient understands.

If you still feel a bit lost on the topic, worry not: our quiz is right here! Answer the questions and find out your love language. We hope it will help you change your relationships for the better. Later don’t forget to share the quiz with your friends, it might help them too!

How many questions are in the quiz?

There are 20 questions.

What options can you get?

Words of affirmation, Quality time, Physical touch, Acts of service or Receiving gifts

How do you rate this quiz?

Click on a star to rate it:

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?